The Chaplet of Humility

Chaplet of Humility:

Opening prayer:  Father, give me the humility which realizes its ignorance, admits its mistakes, recognizes its needs, welcomes advice and accepts rebukes. Help me always to praise rather than criticize, to encourage rather than to disparage, to build rather than to destroy, and to think of people at their best rather than at their worst. We ask this through Christ our Lord.  Amen.

5 mysteries or 5 bible quotes:

5 Mysteries of Humility:

1. Jesus’ birth in Bethlehem

2. Jesus’ hidden years & obedience to parents

3. Jesus washing the disciples feet

4. Jesus calling Judas friend & his betrayal

5. Jesus forgiving others from the Cross

5 Bible quotes on Humility:

1. “Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”  And calling to him a child, he put him in the midst of them and said, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 18:1-4)

2. “Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.  Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.” – Philippians 2:3-4

3. “Likewise, you who are younger, be subject to the elders. Clothe yourselves, all of you, with humility toward one another, for “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you.” – First Peter 5:5-6

4. “Neither be called instructors, for you have one instructor, the Christ. The greatest among you shall be your servant. Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.” – Matthew 23:10-12

5. “ I therefore, a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, eager to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.” – Ephesians 4:1-3

On large beads: “Jesus meek & humble of heart, make my heart like your heart.”

On small beads: “Apart from You, I can do nothing.”

Closing prayer:  Lord Jesus, when You walked the earth, Your humility obscured Your Kingship. Your meekness confused the arrogant, Hindering them from grasping Your purpose, Your nobleness attending to the destitutes. Teach me to model after Your eminence, To subject my human nature to humility. Grant me a with a natural inclination To never view myself greater than anyone. Banish all lingering sparks of self-importance that could elevate me greater than You. Let my heart always imitate Your humility!

Then: Litany of Humility

O Jesus! meek and humble of heart, Hear me. 

From the desire to be popular, Deliver me, Jesus. (repeat after each line)

From the desire to impress others,

From the desire of being preferred to others,

From the desire to be thanked for what I do,

From the desire to be seen doing pious things,

That others may be loved more than I, Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it. (repeat after each line)

That others may be more popular than I ,

That, in the opinion of the world, others may increase and I may decrease,

That others may be chosen and I set aside,

That others may be praised and I unnoticed,

That others may be preferred to me in everything,

That others may become holier than I, provided that I may become as holy as I should,

O Jesus grant me:

knowledge and love of my nothingness,

the awareness of my selfishness & pride,

the pure intention of serving God,

perfect submission to the Will of the Father,

blind obedience to my superiors,

holy hatred of all envy and jealousy,

promptness in forgiving offenses,

prudence in keeping silent about others’ matters,

peace and charity towards everyone,

the yearning to be treated like Thee,

and the grace of knowing how to accept it in a holy way.

Holy Mary, Queen, Mother, and teacher of the humble, pray for me.

St. Joseph, protector and model of the humble, pray for me.

St. Michael, the Archangel, who was the first to bring down the arrogant, pray for me.

All Saints, sanctified by the spirit of Humility, pray for me.

Let us pray.

Lord Jesus Christ, though being God Thou didst humble Thyself even unto death—and death on the cross—in order to be a constant example for us to confound our pride and self love. Grant us grace to imitate Thine example, so that by humbling ourselves as befits our wretchedness here on earth, we may be exalted and enjoy Thee in Heaven forever. Amen.

Comments

  1. Linda Curtiss says:

    What a beautiful Chaplet! I have copied it and will use it, giving credit to you, of course. Thank you for such a wonderful gift!

  2. Ethel B. Amodia says:

    I love this. I’ve been praying the Litany of Humility, but did not know that there is this Chaplet. Thank you so much for this wonderful Chaplet. I will use it daily now just I used the Litany. Thank you so much for such a wonderful gift. God bless us all.

Leave a Reply

